Meal Prep – Chicken Breasts, Leeks & Zucchini

I can’t express how important meal prep is in order to keep me an my family on track. It doesn’t take long, and makes my lunches or dinners a breeze. In case you haven’t noticed, when I meal prep I always keep everything BASIC and practically raw. That way I can easily change it up, all while keeping my meals healthy and tasty!

Meal Prep Made Easy! I hate eating the same thing everyday, so this is perfect for me!

This week I prepped grilled chicken breasts with leeks and zucchini plus broccoli and hard boil eggs.

Meal Prep Made Easy! I hate eating the same thing everyday, so this is perfect for me!

 

How much chicken do you need? Well I only wanted 5 meals and each meal needed 4 oz. That meant 20 oz was all I needed. I ended up grilling all the chicken I had and froze what what left over.

Grill the chicken – I drizzled a little extra virgin olive oil over all my chicken breasts. Then I lightly sprinkled some fresh cracked pepper, a little salt and some garlic powder on each breast then flipped them over and did the same thing. I grilled them on each side for about 6 minutes each side. My breasts were cut perfectly – not to thick or too thin. Make sure you cook your chicken all the way aka WELL DONE.

While the chicken was on the grill, I washed and cut up 3 leeks, and 5 small zucchini. I divided them up equally and put into tupperware containers. It was basically 1 cup of zucchini and 1 cup of leeks in each container. Then I weighed out 4 oz of chicken breasts for each container.

The snacks I wanted this week were so simple. Just a boiled egg and some raw chopped broccoli. I chopped three small heads of broccoli and divided them into 5 containers; roughly 1/2 cup of broccoli went into each container.

How to boil eggs – It’s so simple! Put your eggs in a pot. Fill the pot with water until the water completely covers the eggs but 1/2 an inch. Bring the pot of eggs and water to a boil. Once the pot comes to a rolling boil, turn the heat off and let it sit for 10-20 minutes. It makes perfect eggs every time!

Here are some of the meals I made with my basic meal prep this week:

Bacon & Mini Bell Pepper Saute

Meal Prep Made Easy! I don't like to eat the same thing everyday, so this is perfect! Meal Prep Made Easy! I hate eating the same thing everyday, so this is perfect for me! Meal Prep Made Easy! I hate eating the same thing everyday, so this is perfect for me!

Cut up one piece of raw bacon into little bits. Cook in a saute pan on med-high heat until just crispy. Add one mini bell pepper, cook for a minute and then add your meal prep. After everything is reduced and almost done, add a slice of tomato or some small cherry tomatoes for juices. Heat for one minute then serve it hot. Enjoy!

Cheddar & Onions Fajitas

Meal Prep Made Easy! I don't like to eat the same thing everyday, so this is perfect!

I was really craving a fajita with some sour cream! After I made my fajita, I went to grab the sour cream and it was GONE!  Oh, well.

Heat your skillet on medium-high. Slice a mini bell pepper and 1/4 of a yellow onion into strips. Add a teaspoon of canola oil to the pan and saute the onions and peppers for a couple minutes till translucent. Add your meal prep and a dash or two of cumin, coriander, and chili powder. Serve on whole wheat tortilla(s) and some extra sharp cheddar!

Side of Bacon Spinach

Meal Prep Made Easy! I don't like to eat the same thing everyday, so this is perfect!

This side is so easy. If you aren’t wanting a salad try this side instead.

Cut up one piece of bacon into small bits. Fry in a pan until golden brown. Drain most of the fat. Add spinach and toss until wilted. In another pan saute your meal prep.

Garlic Parmesan Meal Prep

Meal Prep Made Easy! I don't like to eat the same thing everyday, so this is perfect!

Saute your meal prep on medium/high heat. Add 1/2 tsp garlic powder and a handful of spinach. Serve with fresh Parmesan cheese on top.

Leave a comment