How to peel a lot of garlic, super fast!

From my last post you learned that I adore garlic, so now I’m going to let you in on a little secret of mine…

I use this trick almost every day!

how to peel garlic really fast

All you need is a jar or thick container and garlic.

easy way to peel garlicFirst things first: Smash the whole garlic to break it into individual cloves. Usually I can just use the palm of my hand, but sometimes my garlic can be stubborn and I have to either A) have my husband do it or B) grab a cook book to smash it.

put garlic in jarDrop all the unpeeled garlic cloves into your large mason jar, or any sturdy container. I’ve used rubbermaid plastic containers and it worked just fine, but one time I had an epic fail with a thin and flimsy plastic container. I shook that jar for so long I was sore the next day…

shakeshakeshakeThis is where is gets fun, turn up the music and get crazy! SHAKE IT! Keep shaking until you see all the garlic is peeled. It takes me about 45 seconds to peel a whole head of garlic.

how to peel garlic fast…and there you have it! Perfectly peeled garlic every time! If you aren’t going to use all the garlic at once, put in in a jar and use through out the week. If you want your garlic to last a few months in the fridge, put the garlic in a jar, cover with white vinegar and keep in the fridge for up to 3 months. (It doesn’t make your garlic taste vinegary.)

Now go shake it! xo!

Leave a Reply

